Saskatoon Writers' Collective

"Produce, Polish, Publish and Promote"

Prairie Wind & Silver Sage Artist Residency Program Presents:

Grasslands Weekend Writing Experience with Roger Mitchell

When: Friday July 15 to Sunday July 17, 2016

Where: Val Marie, SK

Fee: $65.00 (includes Saturday lunch and breaks)

Open to writers of all genres and levels of experience

For more information and to register, visit

The Saskatoon Writers' Collective

2016 Annual General Meeting

will be held in March

ALL MEMBERS are encouraged to attend. 

(non-members can sign up at the door for $15/year)

- vote in your new directors for the board

- meet and mingle

- have some refreshments

-  maybe even put your name forward to become a new board member!  (Ya know ya wanna.)

 (see "Events" page for details)

Don't miss our Special Hosted Open Mic!

We are pleased to announce that this Open Mic will be hosted by A.E. Matheson's Children's Writing Group!

About the group:

We are a group of 7 writers who create work especially for children, from picture books for the very young to novels for young adults and every age in between. We have been meeting for almost 2 years at D'Lish restaurant in Saskatoon to encourage and critique one another, and you'll find us there once a month sharing our work and sometimes a piece of cheesecake. We're please to have this opportunity to share some of our work with the wider community.

Please come out for a fun evening of readings!

 (see "Events" page for details)

Wes Funk, Saskatoon author and teacher, has died. 

The Saskatoon Writers' Collective is sad to hear of the death of Wes Funk. He was a shining light of the Saskatoon writing community. Our sympathies go out to his family and friends.

A memorial will be held on Saturday, October 17th at 1pm at Prairieland Hall B at the Saskatoon Exhibition Ground.  In lieu of flowers,  donations can be made to Out Saskatoon, or the Saskatchewan Writers' Guild.

See: "Wes Funk remembered as a defender of the underdog by friends"

More information about Wes Funk on the Star Phoenix and on CBC

Contest Winners:

The Saskatoon Writers' Collective is pleased to announce the winners of the contest for a new newsletter name and a new logo!

The winners are:

Newsletter Name Contest:

Winner: Dawn Torvik-Wahba

For the entry:

Collective Connections

(The "Coop Scoop" will now be renamed "Collective Connections")

Congratulations, Dawn!



to everyone who submitted an entry.

Logo Contest:

Winner: A.E. Matheson

For the entry:

(A.E. Matheson was also the creator of "Hector", the Coop's old mascot - see our "About" page for more details.)

Congratulations A.E. Matheson!

The Saskatoon Writers' Collective Inc. is a non-profit, non-charitable corporation.
Mailing address: Saskatoon Writers' Collective c/o The Refinery, 609 Dufferin Ave., Saskatoon, SK  S7N 1C4 Canada 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software